7 Layers of Security: What You Need to Know
May 24, 2022

With the increasing popularity of online shopping and the increase in cyber-attacks, it is more important than ever to take the necessary precautions to protect your personal information. Here are seven layers of security that you should keep in mind.

The seven layers of security:

1. Physical security
Physical security protects people, property, and information from physical harm or theft. Physical security solutions are implemented to protect an individual, group, or organization from unauthorized access to a facility, building, room, or area. Physical security aims to deter and prevent crime by creating a secure environment that is difficult for criminals to exploit.

2. Network security
The second layer of security is the network layer, which is responsible for securing data packets as they travel across the network. This includes features like packet filtering and intrusion detection/prevention systems.

3. Operating system security
Operating system security is protecting an operating system (OS) from unauthorized access, use, or modification. Security measures can be divided into two categories: preventive and detective.
Many preventive measures are implemented during the design of the OS, while detective measures are typically added after the OS is released.
The goal of OS security is to protect data and resources’ confidentiality, integrity, and availability.

One common preventive measure is to use a trusted platform module (TPM) to store cryptographic keys and other sensitive data. The TPM is a secure hardware module that can be used to authenticate devices and prevent unauthorized access to data.
Another standard preventive measure is to use virtualization technology to create separate virtual machines for different users or applications. This can help protect data from unauthorized access or modification.

4. Application security
To protect your computer and the information that is stored on it, you need to have a good understanding of application security. This means understanding the different ways attackers can exploit applications’ vulnerabilities and taking steps to mitigate those risks.
Many attacks can be launched against applications, including buffer overflows, cross-site scripting (XSS), SQL injection, and denial of service attacks. To protect your applications, you need to be aware of these threats and take steps to prevent them from happening.
One way to do this is using security tools such as intrusion detection or prevention systems, firewalls, and antivirus software. You can also use security frameworks such as the OWASP Top 10 to help you identify and mitigate vulnerabilities in your applications.

5. Data security
The internet has become an unavoidable part of life. We use it for work, school, and entertainment. But, while the benefits of the internet are vast, so are the risks. One of the most significant risks is data security. Data security protects data from unauthorized access, use, disclosure, alteration, or destruction.

There are many ways to protect your data. One way is to use a password manager. A password manager is a software program that stores your passwords in an encrypted database. This prevents others from accessing your passwords if your computer is hacked or stolen.

Another way to protect your data is to use encryption. Encryption is a process of transforming readable data into an unreadable format. This makes it difficult for hackers to access your information without knowing the decryption key.

You can also protect your data by using antivirus software and firewalls.

6. User access control
User access control (UAC) is a security feature in Windows operating systems. UAC allows only authorized users to access sensitive system resources. When you log on to Windows, UAC determines your user account’s privileges and adjusts the desktop accordingly. For example, UAC will give you full administrator privileges if you are logged on as an administrator. If you are logged on as a standard user, UAC will limit your benefits to those of a regular user.

UAC is turned on by default in Windows Vista and later versions of Windows. However, you can adjust the level of protection UAC provides by changing its settings. For example, you can run all programs as standard users or allow some programs to run with administrator privileges. You can also disable UAC altogether, but this is not recommended.

7. Incident response
Incident response is the process of detecting, responding to, and recovering from a security incident. A security incident is any event that could potentially hurt an organization’s security.

Organizations should have a plan for responding to security incidents. The plan should include procedures for detecting and responding to incidents and methods for recovering from them.

Organizations should also train their employees on how to respond to security incidents. Employees should be familiar with the organization’s incident response plan and know what steps to take if they encounter a security incident.

In conclusion, when it comes to online security, many layers need to be considered to keep your information safe. Following the tips mentioned in this article can help protect yourself from cybercrime and improve your online security. Be sure to keep your software updated and use strong passwords to keep your data safe.